Weekend recap: 06.13-06.15

I really enjoyed writing this post last week, so I think I’m going to try making these weekend recaps a regular feature on my blog!

Friday 06.13
Friday night was pretty low-key for us. We watched some World Cup matches and another episode of Sherlock– I can’t believe it took me so long to watch the show. I love it! I also did some cleaning & meal planning Friday night- nothing too exciting, but it was nice getting it out of the way.

Saturday 06.14
We slept in a bit Saturday (sleeping in for us means getting up anytime after 7:00!). Then we headed out so I could get an oil change and rotate/balance done on my car. I used to work at the dealership I get my car serviced at, so it’s always fun visiting my old coworkers! After we finished there, we headed to a local street festival. It was so much fun!

Image

ImageImage

We didn’t do any shopping, but we had fun looking at some of the interesting items available for purchase. We did sample a variety of foods- horseradish onion dip, maple cotton candy, green Thai curry, and dark chocolate caramel popcorn! After walking around for a while, we each got a slice of pizza and shared some fries. The fries were from a local Greek Orthodox church that was selling food and they were really unique (seasoned with tons of herbs). Yum! Finally, we headed to one of our favorite bars for a drink and to catch another World Cup match- Colombia vs. Greece.

Then we came home and pretty much crashed. Being out in the sun makes me so tired sometimes! After resting for a while, we did some laundry and then I headed to the gym. Working out helped me regain some energy! I think we had dinner and watched something on Netflix. Later on, we went for a lovely walk to get some snacks at a local convenience store. Even later, I realized I still needed to bake part of my dad’s Father’s Day gift: blueberry dark chocolate oatmeal cookies!

Image\

They are so delicious! I would definitely make them again. Here is a link to the recipe I used.

Sunday 06.15

I woke up around 7:30 and headed to the grocery store. That probably sounds ridiculous, but I knew I wouldn’t have time to shop later in the day. Doug helped me put everything away, and then we grabbed some bagels at our favorite bagel place. I love that they offer hummus as an alternative to cream cheese!

Then we headed to my MIL’s house. Our plan was to take her dogs to the beach, but on the way there, we realized dogs are only permitted during certain hours in the summer (very early in the morning, and after 6:00pm). So instead, we drove to a local fort/historic site where leashed dogs are always welcome. They were actually reenacting a battle, so there was lots to see!

IMG_1441 IMG_1440 IMG_1449 IMG_1445

We had fun walking around and exploring some of the old buildings. The dogs received so much attention- for some reason, we were the only people with dogs! I never had a pet growing up, so I absolutely love spending time with my MIL’s animals. Izzy is the black Pomeranian in the photo above.

IMG_1453

 

We stopped at Dairy Queen on the way home, and decided to have ice cream for lunch. Unfortunately, it seems like I am undoubtedly lactose intolerant. I don’t really want to take pills before eating dairy, so my plan is to only have it occasionally and accept the consequences.

IMG_1432

And of course, let’s not forget- Father’s Day! I called both of my grandfathers in the afternoon to let them know I was thinking of them. I saw my dad Sunday night! The photo above is of the two of us- I think I was about 2-3 years old.

My sister came over Sunday afternoon. We had a ton of fun listening to some of old favorite songs. Then we (along with Doug) met my parents for dinner. I hadn’t seen my mom or dad in a couple of weeks, and it was so nice to get to spend some quality time together.

Of course, our Sunday night is never complete without Game of Thrones. Doug and I have both read the books, so we knew what last night’s season finale was going to entail! Except for a few minor complaints, I absolutely loved the episode. Our Sunday nights are going to seem quite empty now- no Game of Thrones and no Walking Dead!

Leave a Reply

