Returning

Hello. Long time, no blog. I could give many excuses, but it’s really a combination of factors: starting a full-time job for the first time in a while (and the exhaustion working at a summer camp entails), going on vacation, and sheer laziness. However, now that I’ve adjusted to longer work weeks and less free time, I feel like I can begin writing again. I’ve never worked at a summer camp before, so I was unprepared for coming home in the afternoon and basically collapsing for 2-3 hours. Now that I am mentally and physically used to the job, I have more time and energy to invest in the things I love- and blogging is definitely one of them!

Work has been very demanding, but very rewarding- isn’t that always how it goes? The summer camp environment is obviously very different from the after-school program environment, but not different in a bad way. Just more kids, more planning, more field trips, and sometimes, more fun. I primarily work with the older group of kids in our program, ages 9-11. So far this summer, we’ve gone to the beach, a Minor League baseball game, the pool (every week), the library (every week), and some different parks/playgrounds. We’ve had some fun theme days, too- Pirate Day, Christmas in July, Color Wars, etc. Tomorrow we’re headed to a (small) amusement park. I’m actually looking forward to it- we split the kids up into really small groups, so each adult is responsible for 4-5 kids for the entire day. Not too bad.

My husband also works for a summer program, but in a different town. In our free time, we’ve been watching lots of Law & Order SVU re-runs. We recently finished watching BBC’s Sherlock, which I loved. I’m finally making some progress in the bike-riding department– I never learned as a child! We’ve started going for runs together, which is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. I’m currently reading Atonement and really enjoying it. We’ve had some beach days, and are planning more before summer ends! Our first wedding anniversary is coming up (!!!!) and we’ve got a long weekend in Boston planned. I’ll be going to my first Red Sox game in over ten years- very excited!

All in all, I’m pretty content. My mental health is really good most days, and in general I feel positive and optimistic about life. I’m not dreading the start of school at all- I’m excited to finish the final semester of my Bachelor’s degree, excited to no longer wake up at 5:30am every weekday (I currently work 7:00am-3:00pm, and all of my fall classes begin at 9:40am or later), and excited for the cooler weather! However, I am certainly enjoying the last month or so of summer. My eating disorder symptoms/behaviors have been very under control as I continue to experiment with eating/not eating certain foods. So far, certain types of dairy do seem to really bother my digestive system. It’s definitely a process, but it’s not something that I stress over anymore. 🙂

Well, that’s about it for now. Expect to see more posts here in the very near future!

2 thoughts on “Returning

Leave a Reply

