A case of the Mondays?

As far as Mondays go, today started out pretty…meh. I had trouble getting out of bed. I felt pretty sluggish all morning at work and it required too much effort to maintain a patient & positive demeanor with some of the kids. Then, while I was on my lunch break, I felt a migraine coming on- and also dealt with the accompanying nausea and general ickiness. I took some medicine, but it didn’t help. I probably would’ve gone home if I’d driven my own car, but I carpooled with a coworker- so I toughed it out. I guess ultimately I’m glad I did, because as the afternoon went on, I felt progressively better.

Then my day really turned around. I had a delicious iced coffee after work, had an awesome workout with Doug, and indulged in our gym’s monthly free pizza night. They get the pizzas from a local pizzeria, so it’s definitely worthwhile. I had a slice of buffalo chicken and a slice of white/ricotta, and grabbed a slice of pepperoni to have for lunch tomorrow.

I spent a while reading on the deck tonight, and made myself a rum sour (I NEVER make myself mixed drinks, so this really felt like a treat). It was so nice sitting outside with a blanket and a book. Afterward, I did some budgeting/planning stuff, watched some videos, gave myself a pedicure, and put some clothes away. Now I’m relaxing on the couch with Doug, watching the Liverpool/Manchester United match. We’re BIG Liverpool fans, in case I’ve never mentioned that here before!

Another great thing about today: my sister-in-law was just hired by my organization! She’ll be doing the same job as me and could be starting as soon as next week or the week after. I am VERY happy for her and so excited to work with her. She could actually be at the same school as me this fall, which would be a dream come true.

Tomorrow I’m hanging out with one of my best friends before she goes out of town for a while, and Wednesday my mom is coming up for dinner. It’s nice having fun plans at the end of the day…gives me something to look forward to when I’m feeling stressed/overwhelmed at work!

Hope you all had a nice Monday!

Leave a Reply

