Life update

It kind of sucks when you post so infrequently that every post turns into a life update of sorts. Anyway, I am attempting to create some kind of regular posting schedule for myself that will fit into my school/work schedule. Right now I think I will be posting on Fridays and Sundays, starting next week. Obviously, I’d like to post more frequently if possible, but I don’t want to overcommit. Those are the days I anticipate having the most free time.

I start my last semester of my undergraduate career next Tuesday! I don’t think I’ve fully wrapped my head around that yet. I’m excited, but it would be a bit more exciting/scary if I was going right into the “real world” after graduating. I’m headed straight into grad school, though- which will likely be different in some ways, I imagine- and so I’ll still be in the cocoon of academia! For another 1.5 years.

School has already started in the city I work in, and the first day of our after-school program was yesterday. It honestly couldn’t have gone better! We have a few new kids- they’re all great, and fit right into our existing group. The afternoons feel so short compared to the long, hot days of working in the summer program. All in all, despite how much I complained about my job this summer, I definitely got a lot out of it. Mostly, I feel a lot more competent in dealing with challenging behaviors and defiance.

Not too much else is new since the last time I updated. Doug and I have been running a lot together, which is so much fun. We really push each other and challenge each other. He’s the only person I’ve ever enjoyed running with! We’re planning on running a 5K with some family & friends in November. I think it will be a lot easier for me to fall into a regular exercise routine once school starts. My earliest class this semester is at 9:10am! 

Life feels really balanced and healthy lately. Time with friends, time with family, time with Doug, time alone. I think the work/school balance will be perfect this semester, too, and I should have a bit more free time since I completed my internship last semester. I know two of my classes will be quite demanding, but I’m confident I can handle it! 

Well that’s about it for now, but you should be seeing more of me on this blog in the coming weeks! I hope you’re all having a great week so far, and happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

