February: highs and lows

Highs

  • Lots of snow days
  • Bought a new TV and sound system
  • Hung out with my sister for an entire day! We ate some great Indian food.
  • The return of The Walking Dead
  • Keeping up with my work – no all-nighters for this girl
  • Figured out who I want to student teach with next year
  • Lots of time at my favorite coffee shop
  • Staying in for Valentine’s Day and making the best homemade bolognese ever
  • Continuing to watch The Office
  • Getting a great deal on a new winter coat (my old one ripped; I purchased a new one for $56…originally priced $160!)
  • FINALLY booked our lodging for our NYC trip (we’re using AirBNB for the first time!)
  • Spent time with our families
  • Bought a new couch (yup, this was definitely an expensive month) after doing extensive research…we decided to invest in something we’ll have for the next 10-15 years 🙂
  • Drake’s new album. I’m obsessed and I don’t really know why.
  • Finally felt like I got back into a regular workout routine- it feels amazing
  • Some really fun, relaxing days at work with my favorite kiddos in the world
  • Started babysitting again (hopefully it’ll become a more consistent thing from here on out)
  • DOUG GOT AMAZING SCORES ON THE GRE!
  • I’m finally eating in a balanced way (not dieting, not restricting, not counting calories) and exercising regularly…AND I’M LOSING WEIGHT. Go figure.

Lows

  • Lots of snow days
  • Lots of money spent that we hadn’t planned on spending (granted, some of it was necessary..i.e. we bought a new couch because our current couch is basically broken…but still)
  • A very stressful week to end the month- I worked 30 hours and had the two biggest assignments of the semester so far due, Doug got really sick and missed a few days of work AND had to study for the GRE..it was pretty miserable
  • Drama with the billing department of our local hospital. Luckily all is resolved now.
  • Feeling kind of lonely / missing my friends / wishing I had more close friends in this area as opposed to scattered all around the U.S.
  • Not being very social AT ALL for the entire month. We were just so exhausted come Friday that we would crash, and then have lots of school & house stuff to do on Saturday and Sunday. I’m hoping March will be different.
Leave a Reply

